LSU trio of Jayden Daniels, Josh Williams and Mekhi Wingo join coach Brian Kelly for SEC Media Day

LSU's Mehki Wingo, Jayden Daniels and Josh Williams will represent the football program along with head coach Brian Kelly, during the SEC Media Days on July 17 in Nashville, Tennessee.

When LSU and its head coach Brian Kelly kickoff the start of the 2023 SEC Media Days on July 17, the Tigers will be represented by a trio of proven veterans.

Kelly, who guided the Tigers to a 10-4 record and SEC Championship Game in his first season, will be joined on the first day of SEC Media Days by quarterback Jayden Daniels, running back Josh Williams and defensive tackle Mekhi Wingo.

The Tigers will be joined by Missouri and Texas A&M on the first of the four-day event at the Grand Hyatt from 10:30 a.m. until 1:45 p.m.

Fans can follow along on the SEC Network which will provide coverage throughout the day on their various shows including SEC This Morning, SEC Now and The Paul Finebaum Show.

LSU will also provide behind-the-scenes coverage from media day on its official social media channels.

Daniels set school marks for rushing yards (885) and rushing TDs (11) in his first season as LSU’ starting quarterback. He also threw for 2,913 yards and 17 touchdowns as he was one of only two quarterbacks nationally to run for 800 or more yards and throw for 2,500 yards or more.

His 3,798 yards of total offense in 2022 ranks second in school history to only Joe Burrow, who set the SEC mark with 6,039 as a senior in 2019.

Wingo earned third team All-America honors from the Associated Press. He finished his first year at LSU with 47 tackles, 6.0 tackles for loss and three sacks, taking over for an injured Maason Smith in the first quarter of last year’s opener against Florida State.

Williams started six games for LSU in 2022, leading all running backs with 532 yards. He added six rushing TDs and caught 21 passes for 132 yards. He scored touchdowns in LSU wins over Ole Miss, Alabama and Arkansas and rushed for a career-best 118 yards in the 13-10 win over the Razorbacks.

LSU officially reports for training camp on August 2 with its first practice scheduled for the following day. The Tigers open their second season under Kelly on Sunday, September 3 when they face Florida State in Orlando.

The following is a listing of LSU’s all-time list of participants at SEC Media Days dating back to 1989:

Year Coach; Players
1989 Mike Archer; Karl Dunbar, Tommy Hodson
1990 Mike Archer; Mark Boutte, Harvey Williams
1991 Curley Hallman; Todd Kinchen, Derriel McCorvey
1992 Curley Hallman; Carlton Buckels, Darron Landry
1993 Curley Hallman; Kevin Mawae, Corey White
1994 Curley Hallman; Brett Bech, Ivory Hilliard
1995 Gerry DiNardo;  Gabe Northern, Sheddrick Wilson
1996 Gerry DiNardo;  Ben Bordelon, Denard Walker
1997 Gerry DiNardo;  Adam Perry, Chuck Wiley
1998 Gerry DiNardo;  Todd McClure, Anthony McFarland
1999 Gerry DiNardo;  Larry Foster, Johnny Mitchell
2000 Nick Saban; Fred Booker, Louis Williams
2001 Nick Saban; Rohan Davey, Trev Faulk
2002 Nick Saban; Bradie James, LaBrandon Toefield
2003 Nick Saban; Chad Lavalais, Stephen Peterman
2004 Nick Saban; Corey Webster, Ben Wilkerson
2005 Les Miles; Joseph Addai, Kyle Williams
2006 Les Miles; Dwayne Bowe, LaRon Landry
2007 Les Miles; Early Doucet, Glenn Dorsey
2008 Les Miles; Brett Helms, Tyson Jackson
2009 Les Miles; Ciron Black, Jacob Cutrera
2010 Les Miles; Jordan Jefferson, Patrick Peterson, Kelvin Sheppard
2011 Les Miles; Ryan Baker, T-Bob Hebert, Jordan Jefferson
2012 Les Miles; Odell Beckham Jr., Zach Mettenberger, Eric Reid
2013 Les Miles; Jarvis Landry, Craig Loston, Zach Mettenberger
2014 Les Miles; La’el Collins, Terrence Magee, D.J. Welter
2015 Les Miles; Vadal Alexander, Kendell Beckwith, Leonard Fournette
2016 Les Miles; Ethan Pocic, Leonard Fournette, Tre’Davious White
2017 Ed Orgeron DJ Chark, Derrius Guice, Christian LaCouture
2018 Ed Orgeron Foster Moreau, Rashard Lawrence, Devin White
2019 Ed Orgeron Joe Burrow, Lloyd Cushenberry, Grant Delpit
2020 No Media Days due to Covid
2021 Ed Orgeron Austin Deculus, Ed Ingram, Derek Stingley Jr.
2022 Brian Kelly; Jack Bech, Mike Jones Jr., BJ Ojulari
2023 Brian Kelly; Jayden Daniels, Josh Williams, Mekhi Wingo

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


× five = twenty