Ranked amateurs: LSU’s Dylan Crews, Angel Reese honored with Sugar Bowl’s James Corbett Award

NEW ORLEANS – LSU center fielder Dylan Crews and forward Angel Reese of the women’s basketball were named the All-State Sugar Bowl’s James C. Corbett Award winners on Friday as the state’s top amateur athletes, leading their teams to national championships earlier this year.

Crews, a junior from Longwood, Fla., batted .426 (110-for-258) for the 2023 national champions with 16 doubles, two triples, 18 homers, 70 RBI and 100 runs. A consensus First-Team All-American, he was the No. 2 overall pick in the MLB Draft on July 9 by the Washington Nationals.

Crews was also the winner of the 2023 Golden Spikes Award as the nation’s best amateur baseball player, and he was named the Southeastern Conference Male Athlete of the Year.

He finished No. 1 in the nation in runs scored (100), No. 1 in walks (71), No. 2 in on-base percentage (.567), No. 2 in base hits (110) and No. 3 in batting average (.426).

He completed the year with a reached base streak of 75 games, which included all 71 games of this season and the last four games of the 2022 season.

Crews, the No. 2 overall pick of the Washington Nationals in the MLB Draft, is the ninth LSU baseball player to win the Corbett Award, joining pitcher Alex Lange (2015), pitcher Aaron Nola (2013), pitcher Louis Coleman (2009), catcher Brad Cresse (2000), shortstop Brandon Larson (1997), second baseman Warren Morris (1996), shortstop Russ Johnson (1994) and second baseman Todd Walker (1993).

Reese, a sophomore from Baltimore, Maryland, was a unanimous first team All-American, leading the Tigers to their first national championship. In her first season with the Tigers, Reese led the SEC in scoring (23.0) and rebounding (15.4), becoming just the fourth player in conference history to lead the league in both categories.

She set SEC records in rebounds (555), free throws made (240) and free throws attempted (339).

Reese was a double-double machine with an NCAA record 34 for the season, including 23 straight to start the season.

Reese also won the BET Award for Sportswoman of the Year and the Best Breakthrough Athlete ESPY Award.

Reese takes home the sixth Corbett Award for LSU women’s basketball as Seimone Augustus (2003-06) and Sylvia Fowles (2007) claimed the first five.

The Corbett Award was created in 1967 and named in honor of the late James J. Corbett to commemorate his many contributions to intercollegiate athletics and specifically to the Sugar Bowl.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


fifty six − = fifty three