LSU’s three team captains for 2022 come from team’s defense in Ojulari, Gaye and Jones

LSU's team captains for the 2022 season, voted on by the team, are (from left) Ali Gaye, Mike Jones Jr. and BJ Ojulari. PHOTO BY: LSU athetics.

BJ Ojulari, Ali Gaye and Mike Jones Jr. have been selected as LSU’s team captains for the 2022 season, head coach Brian Kelly announced to the team after practice Tuesday. 

The three players were selected in a vote of the team.

Kelly said Ojulari, Gaye and Jones Jr. will be joined each week as game captains with a player from the offensive side of the ball. The fourth game captain will be named on Thursdays during the season.  

Ojulari is a preseason All-America selection and enters his second season as a starter on the defensive front for the Tigers. He is LSU’s leading returnee in tackles for loss (16.5) and sacks (11.0).

Gaye, a recent LSU graduate, is also a returning starter and helps anchor one of the top defensive lines in college football. Gaye missed most of last season with an injury. He enters his final season with the Tigers having recorded 51 tackles, 12.0 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks in 14 games at LSU.

Jones transferred to LSU from Clemson prior to the 2021 season and appeared in 13 games with five starts a year ago. One of LSU’s most productive linebackers, Jones graduated from Clemson in three years. He enters his fifth season of college football with 81 career tackles, 10.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks. In his first year at LSU, Jones had 34 tackles and a sack.

LSU opens the 2022 season Sunday, when the Tigers face Florida State (1-0) at the Superdome in New Orleans (6:30 p.m. central, ABC).

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


sixty seven − = sixty five