LSU picked to finish fifth in SEC West by media

The voting contingent at Southeastern Conference Media Days doesn’t appear to have any higher hopes for LSU’s season than did the odds makers in Las Vegas.

LSU was picked to finish fifth in the SEC West by the media, the league office announced Friday morning. Alabama received 263 of a possible 284 first-place votes. Georgia was overwhelmingly selected to oppose the tie in the SEC Championship Game.

Auburn was picked second in the SEC West followed by Mississippi State, Texas A&M, LSU, Ole Miss and Arkansas. Georgia was followed in the East by South Carolina, Florida, Missouri, Kentucky, Tennesee and Vanderbilt in that order.

On an individual basis, LSU stalwarts linebacker Devin White and cornerback Greedy Williams were voted First Team All-SEC by the media. Defensive end Rashard Lawrence (2nd), guard Garrett Brumfield (2nd) and punter Zach Von Rosenberg (3rd) also made preseason lists.

Here’s the complete All-SEC teams: 



QB       Drew Lock, Missouri  

RB        Damien Harris, Alabama          

RB        Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky

WR       A.J. Brown, Ole Miss                  

WR       Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

TE         Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri  

OL        Jonah Williams, Alabama     

OL        Greg Little, Ole Miss                     

OL        Martez Ivey, Florida                         

OL        Trey Smith, Tennessee          

C          Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama                               


QB        Jarrett Stidham, Auburn                      

RB         D’Andre Swift, Georgia

RB        Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M          

WR       Terry Godwin, Georgia                    

WR       Ryan Davis, Auburn          

TE         Isaac Nauta, Georgia    

OL        Andrew Thomas, Georgia  

OL        Lester Cotton, Alabama                    

OL        Hjalte Froholdt, Arkansas                    

OL        Garrett Brumfield, LSU                        

C           Lamont Gaillard, Georgia                                    


*QB     Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State

*QB     Jake Fromm, Georgia                                                

RB        Aeris Williams, Mississippi State            

RB         Jordan Scarlett, Florida       

WR       Jerry Jeudy, Alabama                     

WR       Emanuel Hall, Missouri               

TE         C.J. Conrad, Kentucky                           

OL        Matt Womack, Alabama           

OL        Zack Bailey, South Carolina     

OL        Javon Patterson, Ole Miss  

OL        Marquel Harrell, Auburn       

C          Erik McCoy, Texas A&M                         



DL        Raekwon Davis, Alabama                                 

DL        Cece Jefferson, Florida                         

DL        Montez Sweat, Mississippi State                      

DL        Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State                     

LB         Devin White, LSU                      

LB         Anfernee Jennings, Alabama     

LB         Mack Wilson, Alabama                      

DB       Deandre Baker, Georgia                             

DB       Greedy Williams, LSU                 

DB        J.R. Reed, Georgia                  

DB        Deionte Thompson, Alabama              


DL        Jonathan Ledbetter, Georgia                                          

DL        Terry Beckner, Missouri               

DL         Derrick Brown, Auburn               

DL        Isaiah Buggs, Alabama        

LB         Josh Allen, Kentucky     

LB         Deshaun Davis, Auburn      

LB         D’Andre Walker, Georgia         

DB        Mike Edwards, Kentucky                      

DB        Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, Florida                      

DB        Jamel Dean, Auburn                         

DB        CJ Henderson, Florida


DL        Dontavius Russell, Auburn

DL        Rashard Lawrence, LSU        

DL        Marlon Davidson, Auburn                      

*DL       Kingsley Keke, Texas A&M

*DL      Landis Durham, Texas A&M   

LB         Dylan Moses, Alabama                        

LB         David Reese, Florida    

LB        De’Jon Harris, Arkansas                          

DB        Mark McLaurin, Mississippi State     

DB        Marco Wilson, Florida                   

DB        Javaris Davis, Auburn                    

DB        Santos Ramirez, Arkansas                      



P           Corey Fatony, Missouri                                    

PK        Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia                                         

RS        Deebo Samuel, South Carolina                                     

AP        Deebo Samuel, South Carolina 


P           Joseph Charlton, South Carolina                                  

PK        Daniel LaCamera, Texas A&M                                          

RS         Mecole Hardman, Georgia                  

AP        Trevon Diggs, Alabama                  


P           Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU   

PK         Tucker McCann, Missouri

RS         Trevon Diggs, Alabama  

AP        Kadarius Toney, Florida

author avatar
James Moran
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.
About James Moran 1377 Articles
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


− 4 = five