LSU CB Greedy Williams makes Jim Thorpe Award watch list

Of all college football’s countless award watch lists, none have been as synonymous with LSU as the Jim Thorpe Award, which goes annually to the top defensive back in the nation. At times DBU has had three players make the list in a given preseason.

There’s only one Tiger on the 2018 edition, which was released on Monday morning, but he’s seen as one of the early favorites to take home hardware if he repeats last season’s breakout campaign.

Redshirt sophomore Greedy Williams landed on the list of the nation’s 35 best defensive backs released by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame. He was only one of three sophomores to make the list.

Williams started in place of a suspended Kevin Toliver to begin the 2017 season opener and never gave the job back. He intercepted six passes and was credited 11 break ups and 17 passes defended. He was voted First Team All-SEC last season and is a projected first-round pick should he choose to enter the NFL Draft early.

LSU claimed its only two Jim Thorpe Awards in program history in 2010 and 2011 when Patrick Peterson and Morris Claiborne, respectively, took home the hardware in back-to-back seasons.

Here’s the full watch list:

Dravon Askew-Henry, Sr. West Virginia
DeAndre Baker, Sr. Georgia
Kris Boyd, Sr. Texas
Blace Brown, Sr. Troy
Kyron Brown, Sr. Akron
T.J. Carter, So. Memphis
Justin Clifton, Sr. Arkansas State
Lukas Denis, Sr. Boston College
D’Cota Dixon, Sr. Wisconsin
David Dowell, Jr. Michigan State
Clifton Duck, Jr. Appalachian State
Mike Edwards, Sr. Kentucky
Jordan Fuller, Jr. Ohio State
Kyle Gibson, Sr. Central Florida
Mark Gilbert, Jr. Duke
Malik Grant, Jr. Marshall
Lavert Hill, Jr. Michigan
Javon Hagan, Jr. Ohio
Tyler Horton, Sr. Boise State
Michael Jackson, Sr. Miami-FL
Jah’Shawn Johnson, Sr. Texas Tech
Jaquan Johnson, Sr. Miami-FL
Shelton Lewis, Sr. Florida Atlantic
Julian Love, Jr. Notre Dame
Iman Marshall, Sr. USC
Byron Murphy, So. Washington
Kekoa Nawahine, Jr. Boise State
Delvon Randall, Sr. Temple
Taylor Rapp, Jr. Washington
J.R. Reed, Jr. Georgia
Amik Robertson, So. Louisiana Tech
Marvell Tell III, Sr. USC
Greedy Williams, So. LSU
Andrew Wingard, Sr. Wyoming
Jalen Young, Sr. Florida Atlantic
About James Moran 1377 Articles
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


seventy nine + = eighty one