Waters, Mays and Reid earn league honors

LSU point guard Tremont Waters earned another first-team All-Southeastern Conference honor along with the Co-Defensive Player of the Year award as the SEC Announced its postseason awards list Tuesday morning.

Other LSU accolades include Skylar Mays earning second-team All-SEC honors as well as the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and Naz Reid earning a spot on the All-Freshman team.

Waters also earned a spot on the All-Defensive team.

The awards were voted on by the league’s coaches.

Waters serves as LSU’s first Defensive Player of the Year honoree since Tyrus Thomas shared the award with 2006. Waters also shares the award with Kentucky guard Ashton Hagans.

He averaged an LSU-high 15.3 points, 5.9 assists and 3.1 assists per game.

Mays earned the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and his spot on the second team in his junior season due to his success on and off the court. Mays averages 13.6 points, 2.3 assists and 1.9 steals per game, all while maintaining a 4.01 GPA in pre-med/kinesiology. These accomplishments also earned him a spot on the CoSIDA first-team Academic All-America team.

Reid made the All-Freshman team averaging 13.3 points and 6.9 rebounds per game in a freshman season in which he served a vital role in leading LSU to its first SEC regular-season title in a decade.

Read the full list of accolades voted on by the league’s coaches here:

First Team All-SEC

Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

PJ Washington, Kentucky

Tremont Waters, LSU

Breein Tyree, Ole Miss

Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi St.

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Admiral Schofield, Tennessee

Grant Williams, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC

Bryce Brown, Auburn

Jared Harper, Auburn

Nicolas Claxton, Georgia

Tyler Herro, Kentucky

Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

Skylar Mays, LSU

Terence Davis, Ole Miss

Jordan Bone, Tennessee

All-Freshman Team

Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama

Isaiah Joe, Arkansas

Andrew Nembhard, Florida

Tyler Herro, Kentucky

Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

Naz Reid, LSU

Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

A.J. Lawson, South Carolina

All-Defensive Team

Donta Hall, Alabama

Daniel Gafford, Arkansas

Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

Tremont Waters, LSU

Chris Silva, South Carolina

Coach of the Year: Kermit Davis, Ole Miss

Player of the Year: Grant Williams, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Skylar Mays, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Keldon Johnson, Kentucky

Sixth-Man of the Year: Hassani Gravett, South Carolina

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Tremont Waters, LSU & Ashton Hagans, Kentucky

About Tyler Nunez 362 Articles
Tyler Nunez is a former Assistant Editor of Tiger Rag. He covered LSU football and basketball and was a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


+ seventeen = 22