Strong finish to freshman season catapults LSU’s Boutte to berth on Maxwell Award watch list

LSU wide receiver Kayshon Boutte. Photo courtesy LSU sports information

LSU’s record-setting wide receiver Kayshon Boutte has been named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, given annually to the outstanding player in college football, the Maxwell Football Club Announced on Monday.

A year ago as a true freshman, Boutte set the Southeastern Conference single-game record for receiving yards with 308 on 14 receptions in LSU’s 53-48 win over Ole Miss in Tiger Stadium.

Boutte, a native of New Iberia, Louisiana, capped his first season with three straight 100-yard receiving games and went on to earn Freshman All-America honors from the Football Writers Association of America. He was also named Freshman All-SEC.

Over LSU’s final three games in 2020, Boutte combined to catch 27 passes for 527 yards and four TDs, including three in the win over Ole Miss. He also scored on a 33-yard reception in the win over No. 6 Florida.

In 10 games in 2020, Boutte caught 45 passes for 735 yards and five touchdowns. He ranked among the league leaders in both receptions and receiving yards.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell who was a former standout at the Swarthmore College and a renowned sports writer and football official.

Former LSU great Joe Burrow won the Maxwell Award in 2019 after leading the Tigers to a 15-0 mark and the national title.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced November 1, 2021, while the three finalists for the Maxwell Award will be unveiled November 22, 2021. The winners of the 2021 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 9, 2021.

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


7 × = twenty one