Media at SEC Media Days pick LSU to finish second in West

The votes are in from the media at Southeastern Conference Football Media Days, and the predictions put forth weren’t all that original.

Media selected Alabama to finish first in the West Division with 253 first-place votes and Georgia to finish first in the East Division with 233 first-place votes, which would lead to a rematch between the two programs in the SEC Championship game.

But the media looked favorably on LSU, as it selected the Tigers to finish second in the SEC West with five first-place votes and 1,493 total voting points.

LSU also finished third behind Alabama and Georgia in voting for the eventual SEC Champion with three votes.

In addition, LSU had several representatives on the preseason All-SEC teams.

Senior center Lloyd Cushenberry made the first-team offense while defensive lineman Rashard Lawrence and safety Grant Delpit earned spots on the first-team defense.

Other Tigers on the list included Damien Lewis as a second-team offensive lineman, Joe Burrow as the third-team quarterback, Justin Jefferson as a third-team wide receiver, Kristian Fulton as a second-team defensive back and Jacob Phillips as a third-team linebacker.

The following is a complete list of SEC Media Day voting results.

EASTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

Georgia (233) – 1789

Florida (21) – 1499

Missouri (3) – 1149

South Carolina (1) – 883

Tennessee (1) – 804

Kentucky (1) – 798

Vanderbilt – 358

WESTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

Alabama (253) – 1813

LSU (5) – 1493

Texas A&M – 1268

Auburn (1) – 1090

Mississippi State (1) – 769

Ole Miss – 504

Arkansas – 343


Alabama – 203

Georgia – 49

LSU – 3

Mississippi State – 1

Tennessee – 1

Florida – 1

South Carolina – 1

Auburn – 1




QB       Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama         

RB        D’Andre Swift, Georgia           

RB        Najee Harris, Alabama

WR       Jerry Jeudy, Alabama  

WR       Henry Ruggs III, Alabama

TE         Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri 

OL        Andrew Thomas, Georgia    

OL        Alex Leatherwood, Alabama    

OL        Prince Tega Wanogho, Auburn                            

OL        Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama              

C          Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU      


QB        Jake Fromm, Georgia 

RB        Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt     

RB        Lamical Perine, Florida          

WR       Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt                        

WR       Jaylen Waddle, Alabama             

TE         Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt   

OL        Solomon Kindley, Georgia       

OL        Damien Lewis, LSU                          

OL        Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri                         

OL         Isaiah Wilson, Georgia

C           Darryl Williams, Mississippi State                                       


QB        Joe Burrow, LSU

RB        Larry Rountree, Missouri    

RB        JaTarvious Whitlow, Auburn    

WR       Justin Jefferson, LSU

WR       Bryan Edwards, South Carolina             

TE         *Miller Forristall, Alabama

TE        *Charlie Woerner, Georgia                             

OL        Deonte Brown, Alabama              

OL        Ben Cleveland, Georgia 

OL        Logan Stenberg, Kentucky     

OL        Matt Womack, Alabama            

C          Drake Jackson, Kentucky                              



DL        Raekwon Davis, Alabama     

DL        Derrick Brown, Auburn                           

DL        Rashard Lawrence, LSU                         

DL        Jabari Zuniga, Florida                            

LB         Dylan Moses, Alabama                      

LB        Anfernee Jennings, Alabama      

LB        Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State                            

DB       Grant Delpit, LSU                             

DB        J.R. Reed, Georgia                   

DB        Trevon Diggs, Alabama                    

DB        C.J. Henderson, Florida                


DL        Nick Coe, Auburn                                                 

DL        Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M                  

DL        Marlon Davidson, Auburn              

DL        Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina          

LB        Cale Garrett, Missouri             

LB         De’Jon Harris, Arkansas          

LB        David Reese II, Florida                  

DB        Patrick Surtain II, Alabama     

DB        Xavier McKinney, Alabama                            

DB        Kristian Fulton, LSU                              

DB        Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State     


DL         LaBryan Ray, Alabama 

DL        McTelvin Agim, Arkansas               

DL        Chauncey Rivers, Mississippi State                             

DL        Tyler Clark, Georgia  

LB        Terrell Lewis, Alabama                              

LB         Jacob Phillips, LSU       

LB         Kash Daniel, Kentucky                             

DB       DeMarkus Acy, Missouri            

DB        Shyheim Carter, Alabama                      

DB        Richard LeCounte, Georgia                       

DB       Daniel Thomas, Auburn                           



P           Braden Mann, Texas A&M 

PK        Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia                                            

RS        Jaylen Waddle, Alabama                                             

AP        Jaylen Waddle, Alabama    


P           Tommy Townsend, Florida                                       

PK        Anders Carlson, Auburn                                                

RS        Marquez Callaway, Tennessee                       

AP        Kadarius Toney, Florida                     


P           Arryn Siposs, Auburn       

PK        Evan McPherson, Florida     

RS        Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M      

AP        Lynn Bowden, Kentucky          

* – Indicates a tie

Photo Credit: Terrill Weil

author avatar
Tyler Nunez
Tyler Nunez is a former Assistant Editor of Tiger Rag. He covered LSU football and basketball and was a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.
About Tyler Nunez 362 Articles
Tyler Nunez is a former Assistant Editor of Tiger Rag. He covered LSU football and basketball and was a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


forty two − thirty two =