LSU’s Ofili upholds program’s tradition with Commissioner’s Trophy

2022 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships at the Ole Miss Track & Field Complex in Oxford, Miss., Saturday, May 14, 2022. (SEC Photo/Thomas Graning)

LSU sprinter Favour Ofili was awarded with the Commissioner’s Trophy following the SEC Outdoor Track and Field Championships. The trophy is given to the individual who scores the most points at the conference meet.

Ofili is the ninth LSU women’s athlete to win the Commissioner’s Trophy and the first to do so since Kimberlyn Duncan last won it in 2013.

Ofili won two individual titles and ran on the winning 4×100 meter relay team to accumulate 22.5 points for the Tigers. Her began her day as the second leg of LSU’s 4×100 meter relay alongside Alia Armstrong, Tionna Beard-Brown, and Thelma Davies. The crew put together a season’s best time of 42.59 seconds for the win and sixth straight conference title in the event for the program.

Ofili ran the fastest time in collegiate history ever run into a headwind with a winning time of 10.93 seconds for the 100 meters title. She returned the 200 meters and posted a time of 22.04 to win the event and better her own SEC meet record.

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


× 8 = seventy two