LSU’s Mulkey, Pointer sweep top awards on 2021-22 LSWA women’s basketball team

PHOTO BY: LSU women's basketball Twitter.

Kim Mulkey was named the LSWA Coach of the Year on Wednesday and Khayla Pointer was named Player of the Year. Pointer was also joined on the five-player first team by teammate Alexis Morris.

The team was selected based on nominations from the state schools and voted on by communications directors and members of the statewide media.

Mulkey, the AP National Coach of the Year, revitalized LSU’s program during her first season in Baton Rouge.

After taking over a team that had won nine games, the Tigers went 26-6 during Mulkey’s first season, winning the most games since the 2006-07 season.

LSU finished No. 2 in the SEC and were ranked No. 9 in the final AP poll of the season. The Tigers went 6-1 against ranked opponents and the Tigers hosted March Madness games as a No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament, winning their first NCAA Tournament game since 2014.

The guard duo of Pointer and Morris were critical to LSU’s success. Both were also All-SEC selections.

Pointer had the best season of her career in her final year as a Tiger, earning mention as a top-five finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award. She also gained notice on the Naismith Trophy Watchlist, the Wooden Award National Ballot, the Wade Trophy Watchlist, and the Dawn Staley Award Watchlist.

Pointer was selected to multiple All-America teams (AP and Sports Illustrated Second Team; USBWA Third Team).

Pointer achieved career highs in scoring (19.6), rebounding (6.4) and assists (5.3) per game. She was one of two players in the SEC to have such a stat line, triggering an offensive attack the led the SEC in scoring with 73.72 points per game. She had seven double-doubles and two triple-doubles.

Morris averaged 15.0 points per game in her first season at LSU and increased that average to 17.3 points in league play.

First Team

Khayla Pointer, LSU

Ty’Reona Doucet, Louisiana

Alexis Morris, LSU

Moon Ursin, Tulane

Keiunna Walker, Louisiana Tech

Second Team

Kieyoomia Benally, Louisiana Christian

Kennedy Hansberry, Loyola

Alexus Holt, Grambling

Anna Larr Roberson, Louisiana Tech

De’Auja Thompson, LSU Shreveport

Third Team

Tay Cannon, Loyola

Kalli Chamberlin, McNeese

Kelsey Thaxton, LSU Alexandria

Caitlyn Williams, Southeastern

Kyren Whittington, ULM

Honorable Mention

Monette Bolden, Northwestern State

Hailey Giaratano, Southeastern

Jomyra Mathis, New Orleans

Candice Parramore, Northwestern State

Taylor Thomas, Loyola

Player of the Year – Khayla Pointer LSU

Newcomer of the Year – Moon Ursin Tulane

Freshman of the Year – Kalli Chamberlin, McNeese

Coach of the Year – Kim Mulkey, LSU

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


forty seven + = fifty six