Eason, Murray secure top honors on 2021-22 LSWA men’s basketball team


Tari Eason was named the top player and newcomer in the state Wednesday with the announcement of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association college basketball team.

The team was selected based on nominations from the state schools and voted on by communications directors and members of the statewide media.

Eason, who was named the Southeastern Conference Sixth Man of the Year, had a breakout 2021-22 season at LSU after transferring from Cincinnati, where he played as a freshman.

Eason, a first-team All-SEC selection and an AP Honorable Mention All-America selection, averaged 16.9 point, 6.6 rebounds, 1.0 assists, 1.1 blocks and 1.9 steals a game while playing 24.4 minutes per game.

The state newcomer of the year award is given to the top first-year non-freshman player in Louisiana.

Brandon Murray, who transferred to Georgetown after his first year at LSU, was named the state’s top freshman of the year. Murray averaged 10.0 points, 3.0 rebounds and 1.9 assists a game.

Senior Darius Days was named to the All-Louisiana second team.

Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana College Basketball Team

Tari Eason, LSU
Jordan Brown, Louisiana
Kenneth Lofton, Jr., Louisiana Tech
Ty Gordon, Nicholls
Zach Wrightsil, Loyola

Kae’Ron Baker, Louisiana Christian
Kendal Coleman, Northwestern State
Jalen Cook, Tulane
Darius Days, LSU
Troy Green, New Orleans

Myles Burns, Loyola
Jaylen Forbes, Tulane
Jalyn Hinton, Southeastern
Andre Jones, ULM
Derek St. Hilaire, New Orleans

Honorable Mention
Gus Okafor, Southeastern
Makye Richard, Xavier
Leondre Washington, LSU Shreveport

Player of the Year – Tari Eason, LSU
Newcomer of the Year – Tari Eason, LSU
Freshman of the Year – Brandon Murray, LSU
Coach of the Year – Stacy Hollowell, Loyola

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


twelve − = ten