LSU’s Eason named to watch list for Karl Malone Power Forward of Year honor


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday the 10 watch list members for the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award and included in that list is LSU sophomore Tari Eason.

Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its eighth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in November, which has now been narrowed to 10.

Eason, a native of Los Angeles, transferred from Cincinnati after his freshman season and is averaging a team leading 15.9 points a game and 6.9 rebounds. In SEC play, he is averaging almost similar numbers of 15.4 points and 6.7 rebounds to go with 1.2 assists and 1.6 steals. He has posted two 20-10 games in league play.

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University where he led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late February, the watch list of 10 players for the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to 5. In March those finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2022 Karl Malone Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021), Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

For more information on the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, February 4.

2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates*
Azoulas Tubelis      Arizona
Jabari Smith          Auburn
David Roddy          Colorado St.
Paolo Banchero    Duke
Chet Holmgren    Gonzaga
Trayce Jackson-Davis Indiana
Keegan Murray    Iowa
Tari Eason         LSU
EJ Liddell             Ohio State
Isaiah Mobley     USC

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


1 × one =