LSU athletes make appearances in preseason awards watch lists

The Maxwell Football Club announced its preseason watch lists for both the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award on Monday afternoon, and LSU has representatives on both lists as the 2019 season quickly approaches.

The watch list for the Maxwell Award, given to the best offensive player in college football every year, includes LSU quarterback Joe Burrow as well as senior running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire.

In his first season with the program, Burrow completed nearly 58 percent of his passes for 2,894 yards and 16 touchdowns with just five interceptions.

Hype around the grad senior quarterback has grown during the offseason after head coach Ed Orgeron added passing coordinator Joe Brady to the staff. Brady’s addition is expected to lead to a new-look offense that includes a quicker pace and more options for Burrow both through the air and on the ground.

Edwards-Helaire joins the list despite the addition of five-star running back John Emery after a season in which he tallied 658 yards and seven touchdowns on 146 carries.

Like Burrow, intrigue around Edwards-Helaire has followed the addition of Brady, who seems to have interest using more slot receivers, a role Edwards-Helaire seems well-suited for.

On the defensive Bednarik Award watch list sits LSU safety Grant Delpit and senior cornerback Kristian Fulton.

Delpit is perhaps LSU’s most highly-touted athlete entering the 2019 season a year after exploding on the scene with a unanimous All-American season in which he tallied five sacks adn five interceptions, earning himself a finalist spot for the Nagurski Award.

Fulton’s season was cut short due to an injury sustained against Arkansas, but he still managed to put together a solid season, tallying 25 tackles, nine pass defenses and an interception in 10 appearances.

This season he will be playing across from highly-touted five-star freshman Derek Stingley, Jr., creating a dangerous duo for any quarterback trying to pass along the sideline.

Photo Credit: Jonathan Mailhes

About Tyler Nunez 360 Articles
Tyler Nunez was named Assistant Editor of Tiger Rag in September 2018. He covers LSU football and basketball and is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.


  1. I am so excited and looking forward for the season to begin. LSU has a strong team this year and I think they are really going to surprise everybody with how great they play and all the games they win.

  2. I Agree sir..May be some growing pains to start the season. But I believe they will beast out by Midseason.When that inevitably happens,Nobody is gonna want to play the Tigers.Once all that monster talent comes to bear..Oh Man,I wouldn’t want to be an opposing defense.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.