Six former Tigers advance to Super Bowl 55

Former LSU star Tyrann Mathieu was one of seven ex-Tigers' defensive backs who impacted NFL games on Sunday.

Former LSU stars Devin White, Leonard Fournette and Kevin Minter of the Tampa Bay Bucs are going home to play in Super Bowl 55 on Feb. 5 to play ex-Tigers Clyde Edwards-Helaire, Tyrann Mathieu and Darrel Williams of the defending champion Kansas City Chiefs.

The Bucs went on the road for the third straight week in the NFL playoffs stunned the Green Bay Packers, 31-26, in the NFC championship game Sunday afternoon.

Kansas City took apart Buffalo, 38-24, at home Sunday night in the AFC title contest.

In Tampa Bay’s upset at Green Bay, running back Fournette ran for 55 yards and one TD on 12 carries and had five catches for 19 yards. White, an All-Pro linebacker, had 15 tackles (9 solo) and recovered a fumble. Minter recorded no stats.

Then, running back Williams had a second straight big playoff performance for the Chiefs, rushing for 52 yards and a TD on 13 carries and catching a pass for 9 yards. Rookie running back Edwards-Helaire, playing for the first time since Dec. 20 when he injured his hip and ankle against the Saints, ran for 7 yards and a TD on six carries. First-team All-Pro safety Mathieu had 6 tackles (6 solo) and a QB hit.

LSU will have at least one former player play in the Super Bowl for the 20th year, the longest streak in the SEC. LSU will have at least one player in 43 of the 55 Super Bowls played.

LSU has had 40 players win 50 Super Bowl rings. Current LSU assistant coach and all-time Tigers’ rushing leader Kevin Faulk has won the most Super Bowl rings – 3 – all with the New England Patriots.

Three players – DT Booger McFarland (Bucs. Colts), CB Randall Gay (Patriots, Saints) and RB Spencer Ware (Seahawks, Chiefs) are the only ex-LSU stars to win two rings playing for two different teams.

Gay, WR Devery Henderson and DT Marlon Favorite are the only Tigers to win Super Bowl rings for the New Orleans Saints.

Here’s what former LSU players did in the conference finals:

NFC championship

Green Bay Packers 31, Tampa Bay Bucs 26

Bucs – RB Leonard Fournette 55 yards rushing and one TD on 12 carries and had five catches for 19 yards, LB Devin White 15 tackles (9 solo) and recovered a fumble, LB Kevin Minter no stats.

Kansas City Chiefs 38, Buffalo Bills 24

Bills – CB Tre’Davious White 7 tackles (4 solo), LS Reid Ferguson snapped on 4 of 4 field goals, 0 of 1 extra points and three punts. Chiefs – RB Clyde Edwards-Helaire 7 yards rushing and a TD on 6 carries, CB Tyrann Mathieu 6 tackles (6 solo),a QB hit., RB Darrel Williams 52 yards rushing and a TD on 13 carries, 1 catch for 9 yards.

author avatar
Ron Higgins

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


twenty seven + = 31