Two Tigers named to Nagurski Award Watchlist

BATON ROUGE – LSU junior linebacker Devin White and sophomore cornerback Greedy Williams have been named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, The Football Writers Association of America released Tuesday.

The trophy is awarded to the top defensive player in the country. Williams and White have each been named to three preseason watch lists. The duo was named to the Chuck Bednarik watch list. On Monday, White was named to the Butkus Award watch list and Williams was on the Thorpe Award watch list.

White, a junior from Springhill, Louisiana, led the Southeastern Conference in tackles a year ago, registering 133 from his linebacker position. He became the first LSU player to lead the SEC in tackles since the early 1980s.

White set a league record by earning SEC Defensive Player of the Week honors four times in 2017. He also tied the school record for double-digit tackles in a season as he accomplished the feat eight times.
White earned second team All-America honors last year in what was his first season as a starter for the Tigers. In 25 career games, White has recorded 163 tackles and 5.5 sacks.

Williams, a sophomore from Shreveport, started all 13 games for the Tigers at cornerback in 2017. He led the SEC in interceptions with six on his way to earning third team All-America honors from the Associated Press.

The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2018 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 14 and the winner will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association’s 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the entire 2018 preseason watch list calendar:

2018 NCFAA Awards Preseason Watch List Calendar
Monday July 16: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tuesday July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
Wednesday July 18: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 19: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 20: Mackey Award & Rimington Award
Monday July 23: Thorpe Award & Butkus Award
Tuesday July 24: Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award
Wednesday July 25: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 26: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 27: Walter Camp Award

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


− seven = three