Stingley and York named Coaches All-SEC first team

LSU kicker Cade York (36) was selected Walter Camp first-team preseason All-American for the upcoming 2021 season. Photo by Brad McClenny/The Gainesville Sun

LSU defensive back Derek Stingley Jr. and Tigers’ placekicker Cade York were named to the Coaches All-SEC first team, the league office announced Tuesday.

Defensive end Ali Gaye and punter Zach Von Rosenberg were named to the second team. Wide receiver Kayshon Boutte, tight end Arik Gilbert, defensive end B.J. Ojulari and defensive back Eli Ricks were named to the All-Freshman team. Boutte also was named to the team as a return specialist.

Stingley, a first-team All-American in 2019, recorded 27 tackles, 2.5 tackles for loss and five pass breakups this year. Last year as a true freshman, he earned first-team recognition from the Associated Press and second-team honors from the coaches.

York, who set the LSU record with his game-winning 57-yard field goal that beat Florida, tied for the SEC lead in total field goals with 18. He connected on 18-of-21 field goals including 6 of 7 six of his kicks from 50 yards or longer.

He opened the season hitting seven straight field goal and closed the year nailing his last eight attempts, including all four in LSU’s 53-48 win over Ole Miss in the season-finale.

Gaye, a junior college transfer who started all 10 games at defensive end, recorded 32 tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss (tied for sixth in the SEC) and a pair of sacks.

Von Rosenberg led the SEC in punts downed inside the 20-yard line with 27. He also led the league in punts of 50-plus yards with 18. He averaged 43.9 yards on 59 punts and was twice named the Ray Guy National Punter of the Week in 2020. Von Rosenberg was a second team All-SEC selection in 2018.

Boutte finished his rookie season in record-setting fashion, capping the year with three consecutive 100-yard games and breaking the SEC record for yards receiving in a game with 308 in LSU’s win over Ole Miss. For the season, Boutte caught 45 passes for 735 yards and five touchdowns. His 73.5 yards receiving per game ranks No. 7 in the SEC and is first among all freshmen in the league.

Gilbert, despite missing the final two games of the season after quitting, still caught 35 passes for 368 yards and two TDs.

A pass-rushing specialist, Ojulari recorded 16 tackles, 5.0 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks in his first year with the Tigers. His 4.0 sacks ranked second among all freshmen in the SEC.

Ricks led the SEC in both interceptions (4) and interceptions returned for touchdowns (2). His 68-yard interception return for a TD helped the Tigers upset sixth-ranked Florida on Dec. 12.

League champion Alabama placed 10 players on the first team and won five of the conference’s seven major awards.

2020 All-SEC Coaches’ Team

TE Kyle Pitts, Florida
OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
OL Landon Young, Kentucky
OL Ben Cleveland, Georgia
OL Trey Smith, Tennessee*
OL Deonte Brown, Alabama*
C Landon Dickerson, Alabama
WR DeVonta Smith, Alabama
WR Elijah Moore, Ole Miss
QB Mac Jones, Alabama
RB Najee Harris, Alabama
RB Isaiah Spiller, Texas A&M
AP Kadarius Toney, Florida
DL Christian Barmore, Alabama
DL Kingsley Enagbare, South Carolina
DL Trajan Jeffcoat, Missouri
DL Bobby Brown III, Texas A&M
LB Nick Bolton, Missouri
LB Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB Grant Morgan, Arkansas
DB Patrick Surtain II, Alabama
DB Kaiir Elam, Florida
DB Richard LeCounte, Georgia
DB Derek Stingley, Jr., LSU
PK Cade York, LSU

P Jake Camarda, Georgia
RS Kadarius Toney, Florida

TE Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M
OL Darian Kinnard, Kentucky
OL Kenyon Green, Texas A&M
OL Dan Moore Jr., Texas A&M
OL Carson Green, Texas A&M
C Drake Jackson, Kentucky
WR Kadarius Toney, Florida
WR Treylon Burks, Arkansas
QB Kyle Trask, Florida
RB Kevin Harris, South Carolina
RB Larry Rountree, Missouri
AP Jerrion Ealy, Ole Miss
DL Big Kat Bryant, Auburn
DL Jordan Davis, Georgia
DL Dayo Odeyingbo, Vanderbilt
DL Ali Gaye, LSU
LB Azeez Ojulari, Georgia
LB Bumper Pool, Arkansas
LB Christopher Allen, Alabama
DB Eric Stokes, Georgia
DB Malachi Moore, Alabama
DB Jalen Catalon, Arkansas
DB Jaycee Horn, South Carolina
PK Anders Carlson, Auburn
P Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU
RS Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
TE Arik Gilbert LSU*

TE Hudson Henry, Arkansas*
OL Warren McClendon, Georgia
OL Javion Cohen, Alabama
OL Brady Latham, Arkansas
OL Charles Cross, Mississippi State
WR Keyshon Boutte, LSU
WR Jaden Walley, Mississippi State
QB Connor Bazelak, Missouri
RB Tank Bigsby, Auburn
RB Kendall Milton, Georgia
AP Tank Bigsby, Auburn
DL Colby Wooden, Auburn
DL Jalen Carter, Georgia
DL BJ Olujari, LSU
DL McKinnley Jackson, Texas A&M
LB Will Anderson Jr., Alabama
LB J.J. Weaver, Kentucky
LB Mohamed Kaba, South Carolina
DB Malachi Moore, Alabama
DB Eli Ricks, LSU
DB Jalen Catalon, Arkansas
DB Emmanuel Forbes, Mississippi State
PK Harrison Mevis, Missouri   
P Kai Kroeger, South Carolina
RS Kayshon Boutte, LSU
 (* – Ties unbroken)

Offensive Player of the Year: WR DeVonta Smith, Alabama

Defensive Player of the Year: DB Patrick Surtain II, Alabama

Special Teams Player of the Year: P Jake Camarda, Georgia

Freshman of the Year: QB Connor Bazelak, Missouri and RB Tank Bigsby, Auburn

Coach of the Year: Nick Saban, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: QB Mac Jones, Alabama

Jacobs Blocking Trophy: OL Landon Dickerson, Alabama and OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


+ twenty = twenty seven