LSU’s Daniels and Nabers are on the 2023 Watch List for the Maxwell Award

PHOTO BY: Jonathan Mailhes

LSU standouts Jayden Daniels and Malik Nabers are among 85 players nationally who have been named to the Maxwell Award Watch List for the 2023 season, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Monday.

The Maxwell Award has been presented annually for 86 years to the outstanding player in college football. LSU quarterback Joe Burrow won the award in 2019.

Daniels enters his second season after leading LSU to a 10-4 mark and the SEC Western Division title in 2022. He set LSU records for rushing yards (885) and rushing TDs (11) by a quarterback in 2022 and he was one of only two players nationally to rush for 800 yards and throw for at least 2,500 yards.

Daniels’ 3,798 yards of total offense last year ranks second to only Burrow in school history. He also became the first LSU quarterback to rush and pass for 3 TDs in a game decided in regulation doing so in the win over Florida.

A preseason All-SEC selection, Daniels enters his final season with the Tigers having thrown for 8,938 yards and 49 touchdowns in his college career, three of which were spent at the starting quarterback at Arizona State.

Nabers, also a preseason All-SEC selection, is coming off the 12th 1,000-yard receiving season in school history. He led the SEC in receptions (72) and ranked No. 2 in the league in receiving yards (1,017) last year as a sophomore.

Nabers enters his junior season with 100 career receptions for 1,437 yards and seven touchdowns.

The Maxwell Award is the first 16 national award watch lists that will be announced over the next two weeks.

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


6 + three =