LSU earns 13 spots on Preseason Coaches All-SEC team


BATON ROUGE, La. – LSU football tied for the most selections on the 2016 Preseason Coaches All-Southeastern Conference Football Team with 13 players on the list the league office announced on Thursday morning.

The voting was done by the league coaches during the first two weeks of August. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. The University of Alabama also had 13 picks preseason all-conference selections, with Tennessee being the only other institution with double-digit selections with 10.

Making the cut on the first team is Leonard Fournette at running back, with center Ethan Pocic up front on the offensive side. On defense, Kendell Beckwith slots in at linebacker, while Tre’Davious White lands at defensive back.

On the second team, William Clapp earns a spot along the offensive line, with Malachi Dupre landing as one of two wide receivers. Davon Godchaux is up front on the defensive line, while Arden Key was slotted in at linebacker and Jamal Adams at defensive back.

Quarterback Brandon Harris leads the third-team offense, which also includes Derrius Guice and Travin Dural. The last LSU selection is Lewis Neal on the defensive line.

The Tigers open the 2016 regular season against Wisconsin at 2:30 p.m. CT on Saturday, September 3 at Lambeau Field in Green Bay. The game will air live on ABC.


2016 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Team (* – ties)

First Team Preseason All-SEC

TE – O.J. Howard, Alabama
OL – Cam Robinson, Alabama
OL – Dan Skipper, Arkansas
OL – Greg Pyke, Georgia
OL – Alex Kozan, Auburn
C – Ethan Pocic, LSU
WR – Calvin Ridley, Alabama
WR – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
QB – Chad Kelly, Ole Miss
RB – Leonard Fournette, LSU
RB – Nick Chubb, Georgia
AP – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

DL – Myles Garrett, Texas A&M
DL – Jonathan Allen, Alabama
DL – Derek Barnett, Tennessee
DL – Carl Lawson, Auburn
LB – Reuben Foster, Alabama
LB – Kendell Beckwith, LSU
LB – Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee*
LB – Jarrad Davis, Florida*
DB – Tre’Davious White, LSU
DB – Eddie Jackson, Alabama
DB – Jalen Tabor, Florida
DB – Cameron Sutton, Tennessee

PK – Daniel Carlson, Auburn
P – JK Scott, Alabama
RS – Christian Kirk, Tennessee*
RS – Evan Berry, Tennessee*

Second Team Preseason All-SEC

TE – Evan Engram, Ole Miss
OL – William Clapp, LSU
OL – Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M
OL – Martez Ivey, Florida
OL – Alphonse Taylor, Alabama*
OL – Braden Smith, Auburn*
C – Brandon Kublanow, Georgia
WR – Malachi Dupre, LSU
WR – Fred Ross, Mississippi State
QB – Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee
RB – Jalen Hurd, Tennessee
RB – Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt
AP – Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia

DL – Davon Godchaux, LSU
DL – Montravius Adams, Auburn
DL – Charles Harris, Missouri
DL – Bryan Cox, Florida
LB – Arden Key, LSU*
LB – Tim Williams, Alabama
LB – Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt
LB – Brooks Ellis, Arkansas*
DB – Jamal Adams, LSU
DB – Dominick Sanders, Georgia
DB – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
DB – Tony Conner, Ole Miss

PK – Adam Griffith, Alabama*
PK – Elliott Fry, South Carolina*
P – Johnny Townsend, Florida
RS – Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia

Third Team Preseason All-SEC

TE – Jeremy Sprinkle, Arkansas
OL – David Sharpe, Florida
OL – Mason Zandi, South Carolina
OL – Jashon Robertson, Tennessee
OL – Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
C – Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama*
C – Frank Ragnow, Arkansas*
C – Jon Toth, Kentucky*
WR – Travin Dural, LSU
WR – Drew Morgan, Arkansas
QB – Brandon Harris, LSU
RB – Stanley “Boom” Williams, Kentucky
RB – Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State
AP – Derrius Guice, LSU

DL – Lewis Neal, LSU
DL – Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss
DL – Deatrich Wise, Arkansas*
DL – Daeshon Hall, Texas A&M*
DL – A.J. Jefferson, Mississippi State*
LB – Richie Brown, Mississippi State
LB – Oren Burks, Vanderbilt
LB – Lorenzo Carter, Georgia
DB – Marcus Maye, Florida
DB – Marlon Humphrey, Alabama
DB – Johnathan Ford, Auburn
DB – Quincy Wilson, Florida

PK – Gary Wunderlich, Ole Miss
P – Trevor Daniel, Tennessee
RS – Marcus Davis, Auburn*
RS – Cameron Sutton, Tennessee*
RS – Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State*

author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


forty five − forty =