LSU announces football schedule for 2019 season

­­­­­­­­­The 2018 LSU football season may have just begun, but that won’t keep Tiger fans from getting excited about the future as the program announced its schedule for 2019 on Tuesday.

The schedule features a marquee non-conference battle against Texas on the road in the first game of a home-and-home series as well as home games against some of the Southeastern Conference’s most top programs including Florida, Auburn and Texas A&M.

The announcement came as the SEC announced the full schedules for all 14 programs in the league Tuesday.

The Tigers will open up their season in Tiger Stadium on Aug. 31 against Georgia Southern before traveling to Austin, Texas for their long-anticipated showdown with the Longhorns on Sept. 7.

It’s the first time LSU will open its season in Tiger Stadium since 2011 when the Tigers defeated North Texas 41-14. The Tigers were scheduled to open their season at home against McNeese State in 2015, but the game was cancelled due to weather.

After taking on Texas, LSU will return to Tiger Stadium to take on Football Championship Subdivision-opponent Northwestern State before hitting the road for their first game against Vanderbilt since 2010.

The Tigers’ final non-conference foe will be Utah State on Oct. 15 in Tiger Stadium.

After that the gauntlet of the SEC schedule will be in full swing as the Tigers host Florida on  Oct. 12, then travel to Mississippi State on Oct 19 before returning back to Baton Rouge for a rematch with Auburn on Oct. 26, which will lead into LSU’s open date.

After a week off, LSU will have two road games against Alabama (Nov. 9) and Ole Miss (Nov. 16) followed by back-to-back home stands against Arkansas (Nov. 23) and Texas A&M (Nov. 30) to close out the regular season.

About Tyler Nunez 362 Articles
Tyler Nunez is a former Assistant Editor of Tiger Rag. He covered LSU football and basketball and was a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


ten ÷ = five