Houston’s Bregman continues LSU’s championship legacy with World Series title

Third baseman Alex Bregman bolstered the list of former LSU players that have won World Series championships when the Houston Astros posted a 4-1 win over the Philadelphia Phillies Saturday in Minute Maid Park.

Bregman earned his second World Series ring with the Astros, who also defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers to win the 2017 Fall Classic.

LSU has 15 former players have played on World Series championship teams on 20 occasions, beginning with infielder Alvin Dark of the New York Giants in 1954.

Bregman helped lead the 2022 Astros to the American League pennant for the fourth time in six seasons. A two-time AL All-Star, the 2018 All-Star Game MVP, and a 2019 Silver Slugger Award winner, he batted .259 during the regular season with 38 doubles, 23 homers, 93 RBI and 93 runs scored.

Bregman collected three doubles, one homer, four RBI and four runs to help lead Houston to the six-game World Series victory over the Phillies.

He batted .333 (5-for-15) in Houston’s Division Series sweep of the Seattle Mariners with one double, one homer and three RBI, and he hit .333 (5-for-15) in the League Championship Series sweep of the New York Yankees with one double, one homer and four RBI.

Bregman has 15 homers and 47 RBI in 86 career MLB postseason games, marking the most postseason home runs by a third baseman in MLB history.

Bregman, who completed his seventh season with the Astros on Saturday night, was the No. 2 overall pick in the 2015 MLB Draft.

Following is the list of the former LSU players who became World Series champions:

MLB World Series Champions from LSU

  • INF Alvin Dark, New York Giants – 1954 (player); Oakland Athletics – 1974 (manager)
  • 1B Joe Bill Adcock, Milwaukee Braves – 1957
  • LHP Mark Guthrie, Minnesota Twins – 1991
  • LHP Eddie Yarnall, New York Yankees – 1999 and 2000
  • LHP Randy Keisler, New York Yankees – 2000
  • RHP Russ Springer, Arizona Diamondbacks – 2001
  • RHP Curtis Leskanic,  Boston Red Sox – 2004
  • RHP Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants – 2010 and 2012
  • INF Mike Fontenot, San Francisco Giants – 2010
  • LHP Brian Tallet, St. Louis Cardinals – 2011
  • INF Ryan Theriot, St. Louis Cardinals – 2011; San Francisco Giants – 2012
  • RHP Louis Coleman, Kansas City Royals – 2015
  • 3B Alex Bregman, Houston Astros – 2017 and 2022
  • RHP Will Harris, Houston Astros – 2017
  • OF Andrew Stevenson, Washington Nationals – 2019
author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


− five = 3