Will Clapp named to Rimington Watch List

By CODY WORSHAM | Tiger Rag Editor

Watchlist season is here, and Will Clapp is the latest Tiger to earn a preseason nomination for a prestigious award – despite a position change.

The Maxwell Club announced Tuesday that Clapp was named to the Rimington Award Watch List, a trophy presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football.

Clapp has never played at center for LSU, starting 11 games in his career at right guard and 12 at left guard. He earned Freshman All-SEC and All-American honors in 2015, before picking up first team All-SEC honors last year as a sophomore.

Clapp was the backup center as a true freshman and worked as the starting center heading into his second year, before switching with 2017 NFL Draft pick Ethan Pocic.

“Going into my redshirt freshman year, probably about two weeks up until the first game, me and Pocic, I was playing center and Pocic was playing guard and then we flipped,” Clapp said this spring. “And then I played guard the rest of the year. So I’ve played a lot of center, just never done it in a game.”

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska, on Saturday, Jan. 13, 2018.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association’s 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the entire 2017 preseason watch list calendar:

Rimington Award – 2017 Watch List
Nick Allegretti, Illinois, JR
Brian Allen, Michigan State, SR
Ryan Anderson, Wake Forest, JR
Jon Baker, Boston College, SR
Jake Bennett, Colorado State, SR
Bradley Bozeman, Alabama, SR
Aaron Brewer, Texas State, SO
Evan Brown, SMU, SR
Levi Brown, Marshall, SO
Jesse Burkett, Stanford, JR
Will Clapp, LSU, JR
Nick Clarke, Old Dominion, JR
Deontae Crumitie, Troy, JR
James Daniels, Iowa, JR
Austin Davis, Duke, SR
Michael Deiter, Wisconsin, JR
Cam Dillard, North Carolina, GR
Austin Doan, Central Michigan, SR
Alec Eberle, Florida State, JR
Dennis Edwards, WKU, JR
Nathan Eldridge, Arizona, SO
Asotui Eli, Hawaii, JR
Blaise Fountain, New Mexico, SR
LaVonne Gauthney, Akron, SR
Danny Godlevske, Miami (OH), SO
Austin Golson, Auburn, SR
Julian Good-Jones, Iowa State, SO
Mason Hampton, Boise State, SR
Jake Hanson, Oregon, SO
Matt Hennessy, Temple, FR
Bryce Holland, Army, SR
Sumner Houston, Oregon State, JR
John Keenoy, Western Michigan, JR
Alan Knott, South Carolina, SR
Tejan Koroma, BYU, SR
Sean Krepsz, Nevada, JR
Drew Kyser, Memphis, JR
Brad Lundblade, Oklahoma State, SR
Trey Martin, Rice, SR
Tim McAuliffe, Bowling Green, SR
T.J. McCoy, Florida, SO
Garrett McGhin, East Carolina, JR
Chandler Miller, Tulsa, JR
Aaron Mitchell, Fresno State, SR
Gabe Mobley, Georgia State, JR
Brendan Moore, Maryland, JR
Sam Mustipher, Notre Dame, SR
Reid Najvar, Kansas State, SR
Will Noble, Houston, JR
Brad North, Northwestern, SR
James O’Hagan, Buffalo, JR
Addison Ooms, California, JR
Colton Prater, Texas A&M, SO
Billy Price, Ohio State, SR
Jake Pruehs, Ohio, SR
Nathan Puthoff, Kent State, SR
Scott Quessenberry, UCLA, SR
Frank Ragnow, Arkansas, SR
Sean Rawlings, Ole Miss, JR
Mesa Ribordy, Kansas, SO
Cameron Ruff, USF, SR
Austin Schlottmann, TCU, SR
Zach Shackelford, Texas, SO
Coleman Shelton, Washington, SR
Luke Shively, NIU, JR
Dakota Tallman, Eastern Michigan, JR
Keoni Taylor, San Jpse State, SR
Jared Weyler, Minnesota, JR
Antonyo Woods, Florida Atlantic, SR
Erick Wren, Oklahoma, SR

author avatar
Cody Worsham

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


twenty four ÷ = 3