Three more Tigers land on preseason award watch lists

By JAMES MORAN | Tiger Rag Associate Editor

The award watch list nods continue to roll in for LSU as the July 30 report date for fall camp continues to inch closer.

Running back Derrius Guice was named to the Paul Hornung Award list on Monday. The award is given annually to the most versatile player in the nation. Former Tiger Odell Beckham Jr. took home the honor back in 2013.

Edge rusher Arden Key also found himself on another watch list, this time the Butkus Award, which is given annually to the best linebacker in the nation. Key is also on watch lists for the Bednarik, Maxwell and Nagurski awards.

Finally cornerback Donte Jackson was the lone Tiger to make the Jim Thorpe Award watch list, given annually to the nation’s best defensive back. Former Tigers Patrick Peterson and Morris Claiborne went back-to-back winning the honor in 2010 and 2011, respectively.

Finally, one Tiger left off his respective watch list appears nonplussed about the snub. Wideout D.J. Chark was left off the Belitnikoff Award list revealed Tuesday morning, and he shared some thoughts about that on twitter.

“We gave yal a chance to give us our respect,” Chark wrote. “Now we about to take it.”

2017 NCFAA Awards Preseason Watch List Calendar

Monday, July 10: Bednarik Award – Arden Key and Kevin Toliver II / Maxwell Award – Arden Key and Derrius Guice

Tuesday, July 11: Rimington Trophy – Will Clapp

Thursday, July 13: Bronko Nagurski Trophy – Arden Key and Kevin Toliver II / Outland Trophy – Will Clapp

Friday, July 14: Jim Thorpe Award – Donte Jackson

Monday, July 17: Paul Hornung Award – Derrius Guice

Tuesday, July 18: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy

Wednesday, July 19: Davey O’Brien Award

Thursday, July 20: Doak Walker Award

Friday, July 21: Walter Camp Award

About James Moran 1377 Articles
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


27 ÷ = twenty seven