Media picks LSU to finish third in SEC West and fourth overall

By JAMES MORAN | Tiger Rag Associate Editor

Reporters at SEC Media Days this week voted LSU to finish third in the SEC West and named seven Tigers to All-SEC teams, including first-teamers Derrius Guice and Arden Key, the league announced Friday.

Alabama and Georgia were predicted meet in Atlanta with the SEC Championship Game with Alabama the media’s pick to win its fourth straight SEC title. LSU received the fourth-most votes to win the league, behind Alabama, Auburn and Georgia.

Guice and Key are joined on the All-SEC teams by second-teamers K.J. Malone, Christian LaCouture and Donte Jackson and third-teamers Will Clapp and Rashard Lawrence.

Here’s the full set of predictions and All-SEC teams.

WESTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

School Points
Alabama (225) 1683
Auburn (13) 1329
LSU (4) 1262
Arkansas (1) 796
Texas A&M 722
Mississippi State 633
Ole Miss 379


EASTERN DIVISION (1st Place votes in parenthesis)

School Points
Georgia (138) 1572
Florida (96) 1526
Tennessee (3) 998
South Carolina (5) 897
Kentucky 869
Vanderbilt 554
Missouri 388



School Points
Alabama 217
Auburn 11
Georgia 6
Florida 3
South Carolina 1
Vanderbilt 1
Arkansas 1



(Total points earned in parenthesis) 



QB        Jalen Hurts, Alabama (196)

RB        Derrius Guice, LSU (223)

RB        Nick Chubb, Georgia (211)

WR       Calvin Ridley, Alabama (232)

WR       Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (197)

TE         Isaac Nauta, Georgia (134)

OL        Braden Smith, Auburn (201)

OL        Martez Ivey, Florida (198)

OL        Jonah Williams, Alabama (187)

OL        Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama (174)

C          Frank Ragnow, Arkansas (174)


QB       Nick Fitzgerald, Mississippi State (121)

RB        Bo Scarbrough, Alabama (151)

RB        Kamryn Pettway, Auburn (141)

WR       Antonio Callaway, Florida (152)

WR       J’Mon Moore, Missouri (91)

TE         Hayden Hurst, South Carolina (115)

OL        Isaiah Wynn, Georgia (116)

OL        Jashon Robertson, Tennessee (108)

OL        K.J. Malone, LSU (101)

OL        Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State (101)

C          Bradley Bozeman, Alabama (155)


QB        Austin Allen, Arkansas (102)

RB        Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt (105)

RB        Sony Michel, Georgia (30)

WR       Deebo Samuel, South Carolina (64)

WR       Jauan Jennings, Tennessee (42)

TE         DeAndre Goolsby, Florida (76)

OL        Lester Cotton, Alabama (96)

OL        Greg Little, Ole Miss (94)

OL        Javon Patterson, Ole Miss (87)

OL        Koda Martin, Texas A&M (69)

C           Will Clapp, LSU (66)



DL        Da’Ron Payne, Alabama (196)

DL        Da’Shawn Hand, Alabama (180)

DL         Trenton Thompson, Georgia (172)

DL        Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss (159)

LB         Arden Key, LSU (191)

LB         Rashaan Evans, Alabama (180)

LB         Roquan Smith, Georgia (157)

DB        Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama (232)

DB        Ronnie Harrison, Alabama (156)

DB        Armani Watts, Texas A&M (137)

DB        Duke Dawson, Florida (137)


DL        Cece Jefferson, Florida (151)

DL         Marlon Davidson, Auburn (120)

DL         Christian LaCouture, LSU (107)

DL         Denzil Ware, Kentucky (78)

LB         Shaun Dion Hamilton, Alabama (156)

LB        Skai Moore, South Carolina (128)

LB         Tre’ Williams, Auburn (103)

DB        Tray Matthews, Auburn (126)

DB        Donte Jackson, LSU (123)

DB        Carlton Davis, Auburn (109)

DB       Dominick Sanders, Georgia (109)


DL        Marcell Frazier, Missouri (77)

DL         Jabari Zuniga, Florida (76)

DL        Dontavius Russell, Auburn (70)

DL         Rashard Lawrence, LSU (54)

LB         Jordan Jones, Kentucky (91)

LB         Lorenzo Carter, Georgia (82)

LB         Oren Burks, Vanderbilt (58)

DB        Anthony Averett, Alabama (104)

DB        Marcell Harris, Florida (83)

DB        Mike Edwards, Kentucky (71)

DB        Tony Brown, Alabama (62)



P           JK Scott, Alabama (222)

PK        Daniel Carlson, Auburn (218)

RS        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (176)

AP        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (161)


P           Johnny Townsend, Florida (99)

PK        Eddy Piniero, Florida (106)

RS        Evan Berry, Tennssee (117)

AP        Derrius Guice, LSU (133)


P           Trevor Daniel, Tennessee (58)

PK        Gary Wunderlich, Ole Miss (94)

RS         Antonio Callaway, Florida (84)

AP        Kerryon Johnson, Auburn (66)

About James Moran 1377 Articles
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


sixty ÷ = 15