LSU lands four athletes on AP All-America team

The Associated Press announced its All-America teams Monday morning, and four athletes represent LSU between the the first and second teams.

Junior linebacker Devin White and sophomore safety Grant Delpit both earned first-team honors, while sophomore cornerback Greedy Williams and senior kicker Cole Tracy earned spots on the second team.

White earns the honor less than a week after being named LSU’s first ever Butkus Award winner for best linebacker in the country after a season in which he tallied 115 total tackles, 12 tckles for loss and two forced fumbles.

The rest were finalists for national awards but did not win them.

Delpit was a Nagursky Award finalist for the country’s best defensive player as he tallied five interceptions and a team-high five sacks.

Greedy Williams, a Jim Thorpe Award finalist as one of the country’s top defensive backs, recorded 33 total tackles and a pair of interceptions on the year.

For the second time in less than a week, Tracy fell short of top prize to Syracuse kicker Andre Szmyt. Tracy kicked 25 successful field goals this season and tied the school record with a 54-yarder in the Tigers’ season-opening game against Miami.

He also kicked a game-winner from 42 yards out against Auburn.

2018 AP All-America Team


QB – Kyler Murray, junior, Oklahoma
RB – Jonathan Taylor, sophomore, Wisconsin
RB – Darrell Henderson, junior, Memphis
OT – Jonah Williams, junior, Alabama
OT – Mitch Hyatt, senior, Clemson
OG – Beau Benzschawel, senior, Wisconsin
OG – Bunchy Stallings, senior, Kentucky
C – Garrett Bradbury, senior, NC State
TE – Jace Sternberger, junior, Texas A&M
WR – Jerry Jeudy, sophomore, Alabama
WR – Marquise Brown, junior, Oklahoma
AP – Rondale Moore, freshman, Purdue
PK – Andre Szmyt, freshman, Syracuse

DE – Clelin Ferrell, junior, Clemson
DE – Sutton Smith, junior, Northern Illinois
DT – Quinnen Williams, junior, Alabama
DT – Christian Wilkins, senior, Clemson
LB – Josh Allen, senior, Kentucky
LB – Devin White, junior, LSU
LB – Ben Burr-Kirven, senior, Washington
CB – Deandre Baker, senior, Georgia
CB – Julian Love, junior, Notre Dame
S – Grant Delpit, sophomore, LSU
S – Deionte Thompson, junior, Alabama
Punter – Braden Mann, junior, Texas A&M


QB – Tua Tagovailoa, sophomore, Alabama
RB – Travis Etienne, sophomore, Clemson
RB – Trayveon Williams, junior, Texas A&M
OT – Dalton Risner, senior, Kansas State
OT – Andrew Thomas, sophomore, Georgia
OG – Dru Samia, senior, Oklahoma
OG – Michael Dieter, senior, Wisconsin
C – Ross Piersbacher, senior, Alabama
TE – T.J. Hockenson, sophomore, Iowa
WR – Tylan Wallace, sophomore, Oklahoma State
WR – Andy Isabella, senior, Massachusetts
AP – Greg Dortch, sophomore, Wake Forest
PK – Cole Tracy, senior, LSU

DE – Montez Sweat, senior, Mississippi State
DE – Jachai Polite, junior, Florida
DT – Jerry Tillery, senior, Notre Dame
DT – Gerald Willis III, senior, Miami
LB – Devin Bush, junior, Michigan
LB – David Long Jr., junior, West Virginia
LB – Joe Dineen, senior, Kansas
CB – Greedy Williams, sophomore, LSU
CB – Byron Murphy, sophomore, Washington
S – Taylor Rapp, junior, Washington
S – Amani Hooker, junior, Iowa
P – Mitch Wishnowsky, senior, Utah


QB – Dwayne Haskins, sophomore, Ohio State
RB – Benny Snell, junior, Kentucky
RB – Eno Benjamin, sophomore, Arizona State
OT – Andre Dillard, senior, Washington State
OT – Cody Ford, junior, Oklahoma
OG – Terrone Prescod, senior, NC State
OG – Chris Lindstrom, senior, Boston College
C – Michael Jordan, junior, Ohio State
TE – Noah Fant, junior, Iowa
WR – A.J. Brown, junior, Ole Miss
WR – David Sills IV, senior, West Virginia
AP – J.J. Taylor, sophomore, Arizona
PK – Matt Gay, senior, Utah

DE – Chase Winovich, senior, Michigan
DE – Jaylon Ferguson, senior, Louisiana Tech
DT – Jeffery Simmons, junior, Mississippi State
DT – Ed Oliver, junior, Houston
LB – Paddy Fisher, sophomore, Northwestern
LB – David Woodward, sophomore, Utah State;
LB – Te’Von Coney, senior, Notre Dame
CB – Hamp Cheevers, junior, Boston College
CB – Lavert Hill, junior, Michigan
S – Andre Cisco, freshman, Syracuse
S – Jonathan Abram, senior, Mississippi State
P – Jason Smith, sophomore, Cincinnati

author avatar
Tyler Nunez
Tyler Nunez is a former Assistant Editor of Tiger Rag. He covered LSU football and basketball and was a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.
About Tyler Nunez 362 Articles
Tyler Nunez is a former Assistant Editor of Tiger Rag. He covered LSU football and basketball and was a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


÷ one = 2