Leonard Fournette named to Maxwell Award watch list

Trio make Bednarik list

Tiger Rag Associate Editor

The 4th of July serves as an unofficial kickoff to the college football preseason, and as tradition, the beginning of watch list season comes not far behind.

LSU tailback Leonard Fournette saw his name appear on the first of many such lists Tuesday, as the Heisman candidate made the watch list for the 80th annual Maxwell Award, given to the College Football Player of the Year.

Switching sides of the ball, a trio of Tigers made the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to the best defensive player in college football. Linebacker Kendell Beckwith, cornerback Tre’Davious White and safety Jamal Adams all made the cut. LSU players took home the coveted honor in back-to-back seasons thanks to Patrick Peterson and Tyrann Mathieu in 2010 and 2011, respectively.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 31, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 21. The winner of the awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8.

Here’s a schedule of watch list release dates from the official release:

2016 NCFAA Awards Preseason Watch List Calendar

Tuesday, July 5: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Wednesday, July 6: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Thursday, July 7: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Friday, July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Monday, July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

Tuesday, July 12: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Wednesday, July 13: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy

Thursday, July 14: Davey O’Brien Award / Doak Walker Award

Friday, July 15: Walter Camp Award / Paul Hornung Award

About James Moran 1377 Articles
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


× 4 = twenty four