Leonard Fournette announces he’ll declare for 2017 NFL Draft

By JAMES MORAN | Tiger Rag Associate Editor

Leonard Fournette is taking his immense talents to Sundays.

The LSU star announced on twitter Monday that he’d be declaring for the 2017 NFL Draft after the Tigers take on Louisville in the BWW Citrus Bowl on New Year’s Eve.

The news hardly comes as a surprise. Fournette, an All-American last season, remains a projected top-10 selection in the upcoming draft despite a frustrating junior season plagued by a lingering ankle injury that dates back to fall camp.

Fournette wrote that he’s continuing to rehab that ankle in hopes of playing in his final collegiate game. He’s missed four games this season because of the injuries, and LSU coach Ed Orgeron called his status “day to day” on Sunday.

Fournette set a slew of program records during his three seasons in purple and gold, but he ultimately will leave LSU without beating Alabama or capturing a Southeastern Conference championship.

Fournette signed with the Tigers’ as the nation’s No. 1 prospect in 2014 and stated he wanted to bring a national championship to his home state of Louisiana.

“When I decided to attend LSU and major in Human Resources, I also had hopes of winning a national championship,” he wrote in his goodbye letter. “Things did not go as I planned, but when I consider the passion and commitment of the LSU fans, coaches and my teammates, I am still very grateful for my experience here.”

Here’s how his career numbers stack up against the greatest backs to every come through LSU:

Rushing Yards

  1. Kevin Faulk (4,557)
  2. Dalton Hilliard (4,050)
  3. Charles Alexander (4,035)
  4. Leonard Fournette (3,755)*
  5. Harvey Williams (2,860)

Rushing Touchdowns

  1. Kevin Faulk (46)
  2. Dalton Hilliard (44)
  3. Leonard Fournette (40)*
  4. Charles Alexander (40)
  5. Charles Scott (32)

Single-season Rushing Yards

  1. Leonard Fournette, 2015 (1,953)
  2. Charles Alexander, 1977 (1,686)
  3. Jeremy Hill, 2013 (1,401)
  4. Kevin Faulk, 1996 (1,282)
  5. Kevin Faulk, 1998 (1,279)

Single-game Rushing Yards

  1. Leonard Fournette, 2016 Ole Miss (284)
  2. Derrius Guice, 2016 Arkansas (252)
  3. Alley Broussard, 2004 Ole Miss (250)
  4. Kevin Faulk, 1996 Houston (246)
  5. Leonard Fournette, 2015 Syracuse (244)
About James Moran 1377 Articles
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


78 ÷ = thirty nine