Grant Delpit becomes ninth Unanimous All-American in LSU history

Grant Delpit had a season for the ages.

The sophomore safety on Wednesday became the ninth player in program history to be named a Unanimous All-American, the school announced. He’s the first Tiger to do so since cornerback Morris Claiborne accomplished the feat in 2011.

In order for a player to be considered a unanimous All-America they must earn first team honors from the five major organizations that select All-America teams: Walter Camp Foundation, Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, American Football Coaches Association and Sporting News.

Here’s the full list of LSu’s previous Unanimous All-Americans, according to the NCAA: Gaynell Tinsley (1936), Billy Cannon (1958), Roy “Moonie” Winston (1961), Jerry Stovall (1962), Nacho Albergamo (1987), Glenn Dorsey (2007), Patrick Peterson (2010) and Claiborne (2011).

Delpit finished the 2018 regular season with 73 tackles, including 9.5 for losses and 5.0 sacks. He also led the Southeastern Conference in interceptions with five.

Along with Delpit, linebacker Devin White and cornerback Greedy Williams were named Consensus All-Americans, meaning they earned first-team honors from at least three of the five major selection organizations. They’re the first trio of LSU players ever to earn consensus honors in a single season.


About James Moran 1377 Articles
James Moran was Editor of Tiger Rag from August 2018 to October 2019. He previously served as the associate editor since 2014. He is a graduate of the LSU Manship School of Journalism.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


eighty six − eighty four =