Andrew Whitworth joins list of LSU players to win a national championship and Super Bowl

Andrew Whitworth, the 2021 NFL Walter Payton Man of the Year, became the latest LSU football player to win both a national championship and a Super Bowl when the Rams beat the Bengals on Sunday.

Whitworth started at left tackle in the Rams’ 23-20 win over Cincinnati yesterday. The Super Bowl victory capped a four-day stretch that saw him also earn the most prestigious accolade in the NFL, earning the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award for the league. He’s the first former Tiger to win the honor.

At LSU, Whitworth served as the starting left tackle when the Tigers beat Oklahoma in the 2003 BCS National Championship Game in New Orleans. On Sunday, he became the 16th former Tiger to have a national championship and a Super Bowl to his credit.

NFL Hall of Famer Johnny Robinson was the first to do it, winning the 1958 national championship at LSU and then a Super Bowl with the Chiefs in 1970.  Ten players on LSU’s 2003 national championship team went on to be part of a Super Bowl championship team.

The following is a list of LSU players to win both a football national championship and a Super Bowl:

Joseph Addai20032007Colts
Eric Alexander20032005Patriots
Michael Clayton20032012Giants
Marlon Favorite20072010Saints
Matt Flynn20072011Packers
Randall Gay20032010Saints
Devery Henderson20032010Saints
Marquise Hill20032005Patriots
Quinn Johnson20072011Packers
Donnie Jones20032018Eagles
Brandon LaFell20072015Patriots
Stevan Ridley20072015Patriots
Johnny Robinson19581970Chiefs
Justin Vincent20032009Steelers
Corey Webster20032008, 2012Giants
Andrew Whitworth20032022Rams
author avatar
Tiger Rag News Services

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


+ seventy five = eighty five