After Jayden Daniels went No. 2 overall, LSU now has nine quarterbacks drafted since 2000

LSU's Heisman winning quarterback Jayden Daniels is the ninth LSU quarterback drafted since 2000. PHOTO BY: Michael Bacigalupi

Quarterbacks dominated the first round of the 2024 NFL Draft with six different passers being taken in the top 12 picks.

It was the most quarterbacks taken in the first round since the 1983 draft. That draft class included Hall of Famers Dan Marino, Jim Kelly and John Elway.

Former LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels was the second player off the board in this year’s historic quarterback class, and he became the ninth LSU quarterback drafted since 2000 which is tied with USC for the most in that timeframe.

LSU might not be thought of by many as a quarterback factory before Joe Burrow and Daniels won Heisman trophies in the last few years, but the Tigers now have more quarterbacks drafted this century than schools like Oklahoma, Ohio State, Alabama and Oregon.

Josh Booty was taken in the sixth round of the 2001 draft by the Seattle Seahawks after leading LSU to a Peach Bowl victory over No. 15 Georgia Tech. He finished his LSU career with 3,951 passing yards and 24 touchdowns. Booty also spent time in the MLB.

Rohan Davey was taken in the fourth round of the 2002 NFL Draft by the New England Patriots and went on to win two Super Bowls as a backup for Tom Brady. Davey left LSU with the single season passing yards record, a record he kept for 18 years until Burrow broke it in 2019.

Matt Mauck was taken in the seventh round of the 2004 NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos after leading LSU to a national championship win over Oklahoma.

JaMarcus Russell went No. 1 overall in the 2007 NFL Draft to the Oakland Raiders. Russell is now synonymous with the phrase “draft bust,” but at the time, he was the first No. 1 overall pick from LSU since Billy Cannon in 1960. He’s the only first round quarterback LSU has had this century besides Burrow and Daniels.

Matt Flynn went in the seventh round of the 2008 NFL Draft to the Green Bay Packers. Flynn led LSU to a national championship victory and threw four touchdowns in the championship game.

Zach Mettenberger was taken in the sixth round of the 2014 NFL Draft by the Tennessee Titans. He was the first quarterback in LSU history to have back-to-back seasons with over 2,500 passing yards.

Danny Etling went in the seventh round of the 2018 NFL Draft to the New England Patriots. Etling won a Super Bowl in his first season in the NFL on the Patriots practice squad.

Burrow went No. 1 Overall in the 2020 NFL draft and Daniels went No. 2 overall this year to make it nine LSU quarterbacks drafted this century.

author avatar
Will Nickel

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


− four = four